SHOCK AND DISMAY

I’ve been trying to gather my thoughts this morning as I have been glued to CNN since early yesterday. Clearly, the majority of people in this Nation are cheering as I am in a still numb state of shock and dismay as to how an extreme misogynistic bigot such as now President Elect Donald Trump could actually succeed in seizing the Office of President of the United States of America. To quote Hillary Clinton, “This is painful, and it will be for a long time.” Clinton went on to say that, “Our Country is more deeply divided than we thought.” This is an incredibly painful time for me as an individual and an American because I feel like I have been shut out in the cold by my Country and perhaps even by some of my own friends and family. I feel this way because I am a female, a lesbian, a Witch and also an individual with a disability. I am now terrified that I will lose my insurance; this is becoming a clear fact to me as I listen to reporters talk about President Elect Donald Trump repealing Obamacare on his first day in the Oval Office. The problem is that I am hearing that Obamacare will be repealed without a replacement plan ready to go into place. Another problem I am having is that I am hearing the reporters saying that millions of people will use their insurance and I am very fearful that I will be one of those people. In addition, I am feeling that I am definitely in the minority side of the divide in this Country right now. Interestingly, mainly because I am a female individual with a disability more so than the facts that I am a lesbian and a Witch. I have struggled, suffered and fought tooth and nail through breast cancer stage 3b and high dose and radical treatments to save my life when I was 32 along with the mental trauma which comes along with the disabilities that I found I had post-treatment which I was not expecting. Also, unfortunately in November of 2015, my heart failed as a result of the Adriamycin chemotherapy during cancer. Up until November 2015, I thought I was doing much better physically and mentally; now that is not the case at all, I am completely disabled and I have to rely on other people to help me through my life and that will never change. There is nothing my cardiologists can do about the damage to my heart. I am on cardiac medicines, I use a CPAP machine to keep me breathing at night and on September 21, 2016 I had a subcutaneous defibrillator surgically placed in my body to shock my heart if my heart goes into tachycardia. I have a very limited energy supply in my waking hours and I can lose all of my energy at any time and this has been a new disability which I now must deal with. So with Donald Trump as the President Elect, who has made light of individuals with disabilities, I definitely feel marginalized. Subsequently, my oncologist who saved my life from succumbing to cancer was from The Lebanese Republic in the Middle East where at least 54% of the population is Muslim. I am worried about what will happen to him and his family. My oncologist is a man who is on the cutting edge of cancer prevention and treatment, he is one of the oncologists exploring stem cell treatment and other new treatments for cancer and he is a person who is contributing to our knowledge base about cancer in our Nation. He and his family should not be deported from the United States because he has and still is a contributing American citizen.

The thing I am absolutely sure of which will matter the most to me and people around me is not the fact that Donald Trump is the President Elect; what matters the most is my own reaction to what has happened. What is my reaction to President Elect Donald Trump? My first reaction is to acknowledge myself as a unique and great individual with resounding strength and determination. I refuse to allow myself to be marginalized and silenced! I will listen to what President Elect Trump is saying and watch what he is doing and if I strongly disagree with what he is proposing, I am going to write my local and state representatives and I am going to join protest groups with the same values and beliefs that I hold dear to my heart. I am going to be heard as I refuse to idly sit by and allow laws to be passed which take away my freedom or the freedom of my fellow citizens. One thing that Senator of Virginia, Tim Kaine said during his introduction for Hillary Clinton at her concession speech that struck me was a quote by William Faulkner, “They kilt us, but they ain’t whupped us!” It’s not as easy for President Elect Donald Trump to make changes to the Obama legacy as he made it seem; he will need new viable plans to put in the place of President Obama’s plans, he will need the approval of the House of Representatives and the Senate and he will need actual intelligent well thought through and documented strategies and tactical working operations to make things happen. So, what am I going to do if I feel like President Elect Donald Trump is taking away my freedoms or the freedoms of my fellow citizens? To quote Beyonce in her song Freedom, “Ima keep running ’cause a winner don’t quit on themselves!

 

Beyonce Freedom Live

 

 

Leave a Reply

