DAY #9 OF THE COUNTDOWN TO SAMHAIN: DIVINATION

For the past few months, I have been studying the tarot; more specifically, I have been studying the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck. I now use the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck exclusively when reading cards. I like that it has a long history attached to it and I trust the symbolic imagery in the deck. Arthur Waite and Pamela Colman created the deck together through the Rider Company with Coleman bringing Waite’s visions of the cards come alive with her artistic talents.I am studying the cards with the help of the book, “The Easiest Way To Learn The Tarot-Ever”, by Dusty White (links at the bottom of this post).

There are so many … Really SO MANY … Tarot decks to choose from these days; perhaps there are truly TOO MANY tarot decks these days. I know there are many decks with wild, exaggerated  scenes on the cards and “modern” Manga “cool” looking imagery which attract the younger generation especially; however, I feel that the true meaning of the tarot is lost within these new modernized, attention-grabbing tarot decks. Call me an old fuddy duddy if you will, but I feel that what is given up in the name of “modernized”, mostly Manga or overly elaborate scenes on these new tarot card decks is the intricately woven symbology within the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck. I feel like tarot decks today are created by more of an artist type person than a person with a heavy esoteric background.

Arthur Edward Waite studied many branches of esotericism such as:  divination, Rosicrucianism, Freemasonry, ceremonial magic, Kabbalism and alchemy. In addition, he was an outer member of the Golden Dawn and after that became a Freemason. He also translated and reissued several mystical and alchemical works such as: The Book of Ceremonial Magic and The Holy Kabbalah. So, in my opinion this gives his tarot deck much more credibility than say a fairy tarot deck picked off of the shelf because of the artwork as opposed to the esoteric meaning of the scenes and symbolic imagery.

My final argument for sticking with one tarot deck is that I am actually able to remember what the scenes and esoteric symbology means and I can read connections between the cards as well. Also, the feedback I’m getting from people who have me read their cards is that I am on point almost 100% of the time. So in my opinion, keeping with one credible tarot deck and learning the meaning of the scenes on the cards and the esoteric symbology makes good common sense. What do you think?

 

https://www.amazon.com/Easiest-Way-Learn-Tarot-Ever/dp/1419692887/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477189132&sr=1-3&keywords=easy+tarot

 

https://www.amazon.com/Rider-Tarot-Arthur-Edward-Waite/dp/091386613X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477192193&sr=1-1&keywords=rider+waite+tarot+deck

 

 

Leave a Reply

